Spinach and Feta Soufflé

Spinach and Feta Soufflé

Servings: Makes 12 servings

Looking for a new idea for a fun and festive side dish? The classic combination of spinach and feta come together in this tasty soufflé.

Ingredients:

  • 6 tablespoons (90 ml or ¾ stick) unsalted butter, cut into 1-inch pieces, divided
  • ½ cup (125 ml) grated Romano cheese, divided
  • 5 large eggs
  • 1 large egg white
  • ½ cup (125 ml) unbleached, all-purpose flour
  • 1½ cups (375 ml) whole milk
  • 3 ounces (85 g) feta cheese
  • ¼ teaspoon (1 ml) kosher salt
  • ¼ teaspoon (1 ml) freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/8 teaspoon (½ ml) freshly ground nutmeg
  • 1 10-ounce (240 g) package frozen, chopped spinach, thawed with any moisture squeezed out
  • ¼ teaspoon (1 ml) lemon zest

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400°F (204°C). Position racks so that the soufflé can bake in the middle of the oven.

Generously butter a 2-quart (8-cup) soufflé dish thoroughly with 1 tablespoon (15 ml) of the butter. Sprinkle ¼ cup (60 ml) of the Romano in the dish so that the bottom and sides are coated. Shake out any excess. Wipe the rim of the dish with a paper towel to remove any butter or cheese; reserve.

Separate eggs, putting whites (including extra white) into the Cuisinart mixing bowl and the yolks into a separate mixing bowl. Break yolks up by stirring with a fork. Attach the chef’s whisk and reserve both bowls containing eggs.

Put the remaining butter in a saucepan over medium-low heat. Once butter melts, add the flour to the pan and stir to cook off any raw flour taste, about 3 to 4 minutes. While continuously whisking the butter/flour mixture, slowly add the milk. Once all the milk is added, whisk until a smooth and homogenous consistency is achieved. Once mixture is smooth, beat in remaining Romano and feta salt, pepper and nutmeg. Stir in the spinach and lemon zest.

While continuously mixing with a whisk, spoon a small amount of the milk and spinach mixture into the yolks. Continue mixing in the remaining mixture, a third at a time. Beat egg whites, starting on Speed 1 and gradually increasing to Speed 12. Whip only until firm peaks form, about 1½ minutes total.

Mix a third of the egg whites into the spinach mixture until evenly combined. Continue by carefully folding the remaining egg whites in two additions with a large rubber spatula. Fold just until combined.

Pour mixture into prepared dish and gently smooth the top to ensure an even rise. Put soufflé into preheated oven and reduce temperature to 375°F (190°C). Bake until golden and just set, about 45 to 50 minutes.

Serve immediately.


Nutritional analysis per serving (½ cup [125 ml]):
Calories 207 (64% from fat) • carb. 9g • pro. 9g • fat 15g • sat. fat 8g • chol. 152mg • sod. 418mg • calc. 175mg • fiber 1g

Soufflé aux épinards et au fêta

Soufflé aux épinards et au fêta

Portions: Donne 12 portions

Vous avez envie d’un nouveau plat amusant et festif? Essayez la combinaison classique d’épinards et de fêta dans un soufflé savoureux.

Ingrédient:

  • 6 c. à soupe (90 ml ou ¾ bâtonnet) beurre non salé, en dés de 1 po (2,5 cm), divisé
  • ½ t. (125 ml) de fromage Romano râpé, divisé
  • 5 gros oeufs
  • 1 gros blanc d’oeuf
  • ½ t. (125 ml) de farine tout usage non blanchie
  • 1½ t. (375 ml) de lait entier
  • 3 oz (85 g) de fêta
  • ¼ c. à thé (1 ml) de sel cascher
  • ¼ c. à thé (1 ml) poivre noir frais moulu
  • 1/8 c. à thé (0,5 ml) de muscade frais moulue
  • 1 boîte de 10 oz (240 g) d’épinards hachés congelés, décongelés et égouttés
  • ¼ c. à thé (1 ml) de zeste de citron

Instructions:

Préchauffer le four à 400 °F (204 °C). Placer les grilles du four de façon à cuire le soufflé au centre.

Beurrer un plat à soufflé de 2 pintes (8 tasses) en utilisant 1 c. à soupe (15 ml) du beurre. Saupoudrer ¼ t. (60 ml) du fromage Romano dans le plat et en recouvrir le fond et les parois. Secouer l’excédent. Essuyer le bord du plat avec un essuie-tout afin d’éliminer toute trace de beurre et de fromage; réserver.

Séparer les oeufs. Mettre tous les blancs dans le bol du batteur Cuisinart muni du fouet en fil et les jaunes, dans un autre bol à mélanger. Défaire les jaunes à l’aide d’une fourchette. Réserver les deux bols.

Faire fondre le reste du beurre dans une casserole à feu mi-doux. Ajouter la farine et cuire environ 3 à 4 minutes. Ajouter graduellement le lait tout en remuant constamment. Lorsque tout le lait a été ajouté, fouetter jusqu’à consistance lisse et homogène. Incorporer le reste du fromage Romano, le fêta, le sel, le poivre et la muscade. Incorporer les épinards et le zeste de citron.

En battant constamment avec un fouet, transférer une petite quantité de la préparation de lait et d’épinards dans les jaunes d’oeuf. Battre en ajoutant le reste de la préparation, environ un tiers à la fois.

Battre les blancs d’oeuf, en démarrant à la vitesse 1 et en passant graduellement à la vitesse 12. Battre pendant environ 1½ minute, en tout, jusqu’à la formation de pics fermes.

Plier délicatement un tiers des blancs d’oeuf dans la préparation d’épinards à l’aide d’une grande spatule en caoutchouc, jusqu’à consistance homogène. Répéter, en ajoutant un tiers à chaque fois. Plier seulement jusqu’à ce que les ingrédients soient combinés.

Verser la préparation dans le plat préparé et égaliser le dessus pour que le soufflé gonfle également. Mettre dans le four préchauffé et réduire le feu à 375 °F (190 °C). Cuire pendant 45 à 50 minutes, jusqu’à ce que le dessus soit doré et à peine pris.

Servir immédiatement.


Valeur nutritive d’une portion de ½ tasse (125 ml) :
Calories 207 (64 % provenant des lipides) • glucides 9 g • protéines 9 g • lipides 15 g • gras saturés 8 g • cholestérol 152 mg • sodium 418 mg • calcium 175 mg • fibres 1 g